Deskstance

Guides · Guide

Veteran and Military Discounts on Standing Desks

Most pages on this subject list percentages nobody checked. We only publish what we could verify on the maker's own site — which means this page has more blanks than most.

By Mike M.Updated How we pick
#ad

We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides the ranking — the method is published · Affiliate disclosure

The short answer

Discount programs change constantly and are often run through third-party verification services rather than published on a product page. Rather than repeat percentages we cannot confirm, this page states what we could and could not verify per brand, and points at the VA's Veteran Readiness and Employment program — which can matter far more than any percentage off.

How we approached this

The standard approach to a page like this is to list eight brands with a percentage next to each. Those numbers are usually copied between sites, rarely dated, and frequently wrong by the time you read them — and a reader who plans a purchase around a discount that does not exist has been actively misled.

Our rule, stated plainly

We publish a discount figure only where we can point at the maker's own page stating it. Everywhere else, this page says "not published on the product page we checked". That is less useful than a full table of numbers, and it is true.

The same rule governs every specification on this site. The method is published.

What we could verify

Verification status, from each maker's own pages
BrandMilitary or veteran pricingStatus
UPLIFT DeskNot stated on the product pages we checkedData unavailable — ask before ordering
FlexiSpotNot stated on the product pages we checkedData unavailable — ask before ordering
VariNot stated on the product pages we checkedData unavailable — ask before ordering
BranchNot stated on the product page we checkedData unavailable — ask before ordering
SecretlabNot stated on the product page we checkedData unavailable — ask before ordering
ErgotronNot stated on the product pages we checkedData unavailable — ask before ordering
SteelcaseNot stated on the product page we checkedData unavailable — ask before ordering

That is an unsatisfying table and it is the honest one. "Not published on the page we checked" does not mean no program exists — many brands run military pricing through a verification service that only appears at checkout, or offer it to anyone who calls and asks. It means we could not confirm it, so we will not state it.

If you find a published program we have missed, tell us and we will correct the page — corrections are logged where the error was.

The program that matters more

A ten percent discount on a desk is worth less than most veterans realize, and the VA's Veteran Readiness and Employment program — commonly called Chapter 31 — can be worth considerably more. It provides support for veterans with service-connected disabilities pursuing employment, and depending on your circumstances and rehabilitation plan that support can extend to equipment and accommodations needed to work.

We are deliberately not going to tell you that VR&E will buy you a standing desk. What we will say is that if you have a service-connected disability affecting your ability to work at a desk, this is the door worth knocking on before you shop, and a VR&E counselor is the person who can answer it.

It also stacks conceptually with the other route: a service-connected condition documented by a clinician is exactly the situation where a letter of medical necessity is straightforward to obtain.

How to actually get a discount

  1. Call or use live chat before ordering. Unpublished programs are common, and sales teams generally know. Ask specifically about military, veteran, first responder and healthcare pricing — several brands run all four.
  2. Have your verification ready. Many programs run through a third-party verification service; signing up in advance takes minutes and removes the excuse to say no.
  3. Ask about open-box and B-stock. Frequently a larger saving than any percentage program, especially on desktops with cosmetic flaws.
  4. Ask whether it stacks with a sale. Often it does not, and the sale is sometimes the better deal. Do the arithmetic rather than assuming the discount wins.
  5. Ask about the commercial or contract line. Brands like UPLIFT and Steelcase sell to organizations at different prices, and some extend that to individual qualifying buyers.

One note on this site's own position: we earn a commission on purchases made through our links, and a discount claimed by phone usually will not credit us. We are telling you to call anyway, because the alternative is optimizing this page for our revenue rather than your cost.

What we would buy

From the picks

Three desks worth asking about

Long warranties and established US support operations — the brands most likely to have an unpublished program and most likely to still honor a warranty in a decade.

UPLIFT DeskV3 Standing Desk FrameNo licensed photo yet

Best current-generation buy

UPLIFT Desk V3 Standing Desk Frame

9.1 /10
Researched, not personally tested

The V2's replacement, and the one that will actually be in stock. UPLIFT puts the range at 22.6" to 48.7" — a lower floor than the V2, which matters more than the ceiling for most people — on the same 355 lb rating and 15-year warranty.

Check price · UPLIFT Desk

#ad · Price shown on UPLIFT Desk · Affiliate disclosure for the link to V3 Standing Desk Frame

FlexiSpotE7 Standing DeskNo licensed photo yet

Best value at full-desk size

FlexiSpot E7 Standing Desk

8.3 /10
Researched, not personally tested

The default recommendation for a reason: the same 355 lb rating and the same 15-year warranty as UPLIFT, at a price that usually lands a tier below, with the desktop already included.

Check price · Amazon

#ad · Price shown on Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to E7 Standing Desk

VariElectric Standing DeskNo licensed photo yet

Best if you will not assemble anything

Vari Electric Standing Desk

8.5 /10
Researched, not personally tested

Arrives essentially built and covered by a lifetime warranty against defects, with a 25" to 50.5" range that brackets almost everyone. The catch is a 200 lb capacity — the lowest here by a wide margin.

Check price · Amazon

#ad · Price shown on Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Electric Standing Desk

Questions

Frequently asked

Does UPLIFT offer a military discount?

We could not verify a published military discount on the UPLIFT product pages we checked, so we are not going to state a figure. Call or use live chat before ordering — unpublished programs are common in this category.

Why doesn't this page just list the percentages?

Because we could not verify them from the makers' own pages, and publishing unverified numbers is how readers end up planning a purchase around a discount that does not exist. Every figure on this site is sourced or absent.

Can the VA pay for a standing desk?

That depends entirely on your circumstances and your rehabilitation plan, and it is a question for a VR&E counselor rather than for us. It is worth asking before you spend your own money.

Next

Receipts

Sources

Specs come from the maker's own spec pages and manuals; health claims from named medical institutions and published research; tax mechanics from IRS material. Where a figure isn't published, we say so rather than estimating it. Read the full method.